top of page

Benefits of Qigong

My teacher, Master Robert Peng, often recounts his master Xiou Yao’s simple and direct description of the benefits of Qigong.

He lists the “6 no worries”:

  •  No worry eating (good appetite, good digestion, ability to enjoy even the simplest foods)

  • No worry sleeping (no insomnia, good restful, restorative, deep sleep)

  •  No worry toilet (good elimination, purification and detoxification of the body)

  • No worry energy (plenty of energy to live daily life, vitality)

  •  No worry sex (healthy sexual energy and reproductive function)

  • No worry emotions (emotional resilience, overall peace, good mental health)


Qigong heals the body, heart and mind Jing, Qi, Shen:
The Three Treasures


     Science now confirms what sages, mystics and masters have known for ages, that everything in the known universe is part of an infinite sea of energy. Objects that we experience as solid are made up of energy just as intangibles, such as our emotions and thoughts, are also made up of energy. In qigong, three different levels or expressions of this pervasive universal energy are recognized. These three energies, known as The Three Treasures or Jing, Qi and Shen, are considered essential to sustaining human life. The Three Treasures manifest on a spectrum from particle (more dense) to wave (less dense). Jing being the most dense of the three, Shen being the least dense and Qi in the middle. They correlate to the physical (Jing), emotional (Qi) and mind/spirit (Shen) levels of our being. Qigong nourishes and heals all three levels, Jing, Qi and Shen.


Jing (substance/particle/dense physical energy/energy in full physical expression in the body and organs).
Qi (energy or essence pulsating through all the meridian streams/ experienced as emotion/vitality/breath).
Shen (energy or essence expressed as consciousness or thought through the many levels of mind/wave/light/information).


The Five Phases:


     The Chinese philosophy of the five phases describes the 5 different underlying themes of the universe and how they relate to each other. These five phases or elements (wood, fire, earth, metal and water) are believed to make up everything from the cosmos to a blade of grass to our bodies, emotions and thoughts. The following table of correspondences gives a brief idea of what each phase or element represents. In qigong practice and treatment we treat and refine each of the 5 elements as they manifest in our bodies, hearts and minds (Jing, Qi, Shen).


 Table of Correspondences


bottom of page